The Inspiration of Christy Brown by Abou Ali

Christy Brown Christy Brown Christy Brown
An inspiration to all those depressed and are down
Your talent quite immense
Showing life can have sense
The left FOOT that was simply profound

You liked to see people slur their words
Lose control of their bodies as drunkards
With an angel over your grave
Who enjoyed the drink to behave
A warrior of light sent to help the modern world

Love brought you a lady called Mary
Some say a Prostitute, a Nurse or a Fairy
She helped a genius to brainstorm
Ensuring the Catholic Priest will perform
Hail Mary Hail Mary Hail Mary

Christy Brown Christy Brown Christy Brown
Your life could have been a let down
Your talent quite immense
Showing life can have sense
Jesus wasn’t the only king with the thorny crown

Over the last few months Christy Brown’s life has become an inspiration to me. I have tried to share some of his life through my blog. I found the most excellent poem by an Proper Irish poet and released it through my blog with no other intention that to show someone else’s thoughts on Christy Brown. However I was not aware of copyright law and removed it.

I would like to apologize if this offended the poet, and had no other motive than to share more about Christy Brown.

This inspired me to write my own poem on Christy Brown which is not in the same league and posses the quality of an establish and recognized poet. However I hope the meaning comes across.

Christy Brown you inspire me to be a better man.

Abou Ali

3 Comments

Filed under Abou Ali, poetry

3 responses to “The Inspiration of Christy Brown by Abou Ali

  1. Pingback: Biography on Christy Brown « Pigeon Project

  2. G

    If you like Christy’s work look at the Biography by Georgina Louise Hambleton – “Christy Brown the Life that inspired my left foot” – it has his life story told by his family and friends, unpublished works, never before publsihed sketches/paintings and his amazing letters inside it 9 all tooyed with one toe).
    I should know I wrote the book, and I have to say, he is truly a genius.

  3. Edie

    Where online can i look at paintings by Christy Brown?

Leave a Reply

